| Home |


Australia Day Medallions

The National Australia Day Council (within the commonwealth portfolio of Prime Minister and Cabinet) coordinates activities to celebrate Australia day through a network of organisations and local committees. Annual Australia Day achievement awards and local government awards recognise the achievements and contributions of individuals and groups to their local communities. The following people within the Natmap community are known to have been recognised with Australia Day Medallions in various fields of endeavour :

Wally Tatarow: 26 January 1986 Department of Resources and Energy for outstanding service with the Division of National Mapping's photolithography laboratory

Alan James Deck: 26 January 1995 Hydrographic Office, Maritime Command, Royal Australian Navy, Department of Defence for professionalism and commitment to the highest possible standards in the workplace

Paul Joseph Wise: 26 January 2000 Geoscience Australia, Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources for outstanding service to the Australian mapping and remote sensing industry spanning a period of 30 years

Charles Wesley (Charlie) Watson: 26 January 2002 Department of Defence for his service in the management of Training Areas and Ranges

Nicolette Burke: 26 January 2012 Fisher Community for her work in the Resource Centre of the Maleny State High School

Queen's Birthday Honours

Karleen Osborne: 09 June 1986 Medal of the Order of Australia for service to young people with physical disabilities.